Jackfruit Natur

simply. yummy.

Enjoyment without compromise.
Filter

    Jackfruit - traditional fruit from Southeast Asia

    Straight from the tree

    Jackfruit is one of the most valuable fruits for a vegan diet. It is considered a product innovation in this country, in fact it has long been an important source of food in South Asia, but also a cultural and economic asset.

    Archaeological discoveries show that jackfruit was cultivated in India over a thousand years ago. Today the country is the largest producer with 1.4 million tons (2017) - ahead of Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia and Brazil. The jackfruit tree is valued for its fruit, but also for its sturdy wood.

    The appearance of the jackfruit fruit is rustic: hard and prickly on the outside, its flesh has a tender consistency and a sweet taste when ripe. The botanical genus is related to the mulberry and fig. The fruit is considered the largest tree fruit in the world. The culinary popularity of jackfruit thrives on its enormous versatility, which is also determined by the variety of varieties and degree of ripeness.

    Degree of maturity and diversity of varieties

    Basically, a distinction is made between unripe - called "green" or "young jackfruit" - and ripe jackfruit. The former is harvested when the fruit is fully formed but not yet ripe. At this point, the flesh is tender and has a neutral taste. When plucked, it has a consistency like pulled pork. This special property makes the fruit more and more popular worldwide as a meat alternative.

    The ripe jackfruit, on the other hand, is characterized by a crunchy consistency with a sweet and fruity taste profile reminiscent of pineapple and banana. It is mainly enjoyed raw or in the form of chips as a light snack.

    Many varieties are grown in South Asia, which differ significantly in appearance and taste. The large jackfruit fruits with yellow and fragrant flesh are particularly well-known.

    Our producers: organic farming cooperatives

    LOTAO offers the sweet chips made from the jackfruit variety Nangka Salak from Central Java. With its crunchy consistency and balanced taste, it is the ideal basis for our jackfruit chips. Nangka Salak is grown by a purely organic farmers' cooperative in Banjarnegara, a region of central Java (Indonesia) that is characterized by rainforest and agriculture.

    The cooperative cultivates the plant with other crops as a mixed culture. This diversity ensures a stable ecosystem. The nutrient content of the soil remains stable and the large number of species ensures sufficient resistance to pests. No pesticides or chemical fertilizers are used.

    The producers and exporters of LOTAO's organic jackfruit are certified by the Indonesian government, EU and USDA (USA).

    We source our young tender jackfruit, which we use as a meat alternative, from an Indian farmer's cooperative, where the fruit is harvested by hand. The products of the association of farmers are certified with the organic seal of approval of the EU and USDA of the USA.

    This cooperative is also supported as part of an EU development project. We as a company are actively involved in this. Our goal is to support the professionalization of sustainable regional jackfruit production that relies on mixed cultivation. To this end, young farmers are trained and supported on their way to independence.

    • Traditional fruit from Southeast Asia
    • Versatile
    • Ideal for vegan diets
    • High-fiber meat alternative

    Jackfruit: High in fiber and delicious

    With the purchase of our products you support these cooperatives. But you are also doing yourself good. Because for vegans and people who want to limit their meat consumption, jackfruit is a tasty option. The fruit is rich in potassium, vitamins C and A, magnesium, fiber and antioxidants. It can be used as a meat alternative in a variety of Western European dishes. The green fruit has a fleshy texture and a neutral flavor that combines well with spices. But it is also worth discovering the culinary tradition of South Asia with her.

    There it is an important part of many national dishes. It is served at any time of the day – even in the morning. For example, idlis is a popular traditional breakfast dish in southern India, for which a fermented batter of jackfruit and rice is prepared and made into steamed cakes.

    Kota gudeg, on the other hand, is a popular Indonesian dish for which jackfruit, coconut milk and palm sugar are first boiled and then served with rice, garlic, shallots, candle nuts, coriander seeds, bay leaves and teak leaves. It's so popular in the university city of Yogyakarta that the name has earned it the city's nickname: City of Gudeg.

    Our tip: definitely try it out!

    We offer you jackfruit as a meat alternative in unprocessed form, but also as a quick-to-prepare convenience dish: You have the choice between curry, goulash, barbecue and natural, and the delicious veggie balls and burgers. We also carry various fresh products and sweet snacks. Discover the delicious taste of jackfruit. Worth it!

Jackfruit Natur

einfach. lecker.

Genuss ohne Kompromisse.
Filtern
    2 Produkte

    Blog & Rezepte

    Alle anzeigen
    Jackpot Süß-Sauer
    Bambusreis

    Jackfruit - Traditionsfrucht aus Südostasien

    Direkt vom Baum

    Die Jackfruit gehört zu den wertvollsten Früchten für die vegane Ernährung. Sie gilt hierzulande als Produktinnovation, tatsächlich ist sie in Südasien seit langer Zeit wichtige Nahrungsquelle, aber auch Kultur- und Wirtschaftsgut.

    Archäologische Entdeckungen zeigen, dass die Jackfruit bereits vor über tausend Jahren in Indien angebaut wurde. Heute ist das Land der größte Produzent mit 1,4 Millionen Tonnen (2017) – vor Indonesien, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia und Brasilien. Der Jackfruit-Baum wird wegen seiner Frucht, aber auch wegen des stabilen Holzes geschätzt.

    Das Erscheinungsbild der Jackfruit-Frucht ist urig: Außen hart und stachelig ist ihr Fruchtfleisch in reifem Zustand von zarter Konsistenz und süßlichem Geschmack. Verwandt ist die botanische Gattung mit der Maulbeere und Feige. Die Frucht gilt als größte Baumfrucht der Welt. Die kulinarische Beliebtheit von Jackfruit lebt von ihrer enormen Vielseitigkeit, die auch von Sortenvielfalt und Reifegrad bestimmt wird.

    Reifegrad & Sortenvielfalt

    Grundsätzlich wird zwischen unreifer – genannt „Green“ oder „Young Jackfruit“ – und reifer Jackfruit unterschieden. Erstere wird geerntet, wenn die Frucht voll ausgebildet, aber noch nicht gereift ist. Das Fruchtfleisch ist zu diesem Zeitpunkt gabelzart und neutral im Geschmack. Gerupft hat es eine Konsistenz wie Pulled Pork. Diese besondere Eigenschaft macht die Frucht als Fleischalternative weltweit immer populärer.

    Die reife Jackfruit zeichnet sich dagegen durch eine knackige Konsistenz aus mit einem süßlichen wie fruchtigen Geschmacksprofil, das an Ananas und Banane erinnert. Sie wird vorwiegend roh oder in Form von Chips als leichter Snack genossen.

    In Südasien werden viele Sorten angebaut, die sich deutlich im Erscheinungsbild und Geschmack unterscheiden. Besonders bekannt sind die großen Jackfruit-Früchte mit gelbem und duftendem Fruchtfleisch.

    Unsere Produzenten: biologisch wirtschaftende Bauernkooperativen

    LOTAO bietet die süßen Chips aus der Jackfruit-Sorte Nangka Salak aus Zentraljava an. Mit ihrer knackigen Konsistenz und ausbalancierten Geschmack ist sie die ideale Basis für unsere Jackfruit-Chips. Nangka Salak wird von einer rein biologisch wirtschaftenden Bauernkooperative in Banjarnegara angebaut, eine von Regenwald und Landwirtschaft geprägten Region Zentraljavas (Indonesien).

    Die Kooperative baut die Pflanze mit anderen Nutzpflanzen als Mischkultur an. Diese Diversität sorgt für ein stabiles Ökosystem. Der Nährstoffgehalt des Bodens bleibt so stabil und die Vielzahl an Spezien sorgt für ausreichend Resistenz gegen Schädlinge. Es werden keine Pestizide oder chemische Dünger eingesetzt.

    Die Produzenten und Exporteure von LOTAOs Bio-Jackfruit sind zertifiziert durch die indonesische Regierung, EU und USDA (USA).

    Unsere junge Tender-Jackfruit, die wir als Fleischalternative verwenden, beziehen wir von einer indischen Bauernkooperative, wo die Frucht per Hand geerntet wird. Die Erzeugnisse des Zusammenschlusses von Landwirten sind mit dem Bio-Gütesiegel der EU und USDA der USA zertifiziert.

    Diese Kooperative wird auch im Rahmen eines EU-Entwicklungsprojektes unterstützt. Wir als Unternehmen wirken daran aktiv mit. Unser Ziel ist es, eine Professionalisierung der nachhaltigen regionalen Jackfruitproduktion zu unterstützen, die auf Mischkultur setzt. Dafür werden junge Landwirte ausgebildet und auf dem Weg in die Selbstständigkeit begleitet.

    • Traditionsfrucht aus Südostasien
    • Vielseitig verwendbar
    • Ideal für vegane Ernährung
    • Ballaststoffreiche Fleischalternative

    Jackfruit: Ballaststoffreich und lecker

    Mit dem Kauf unserer Produkte unterstützt Du diese Kooperativen. Aber Du tust auch Dir Gutes. Denn für Veganer und Menschen, die ihren Fleischkonsum einschränken wollen, ist Jackfruit eine leckere Option. Die Frucht ist reich an Kalium, Vitaminen C und A, Magnesium, Ballaststoffen und Antioxidantien. Sie lässt sich als Fleischalternative in einer Vielzahl westeuropäischer Gerichte verwenden. Die grüne Frucht hat eine fleischige Textur und neutralen Geschmack, der sich optimal mit Gewürzen verbindet. Aber es lohnt sich auch die kulinarische Tradition Südasiens mit ihr zu entdecken.

    Dort ist sie wichtiger Bestandteil vieler Nationalgerichte. Sie wird zu jeder Tageszeit serviert – auch am Morgen. Idlis ist zum Beispiel ein beliebtes traditionelles Frühstücksgericht Südindiens, für das ein fermentierter Teig aus Jackfruit und Reis zubereitet und zu gedämpften Küchlein weiterverarbeitet wird.

    Kota Gudeg dagegen ist ein populäres indonesisches Gericht, für das zunächst Jackfruit, Kokosmilch und Palmzucker gekocht wird und dann mit Reis, Knoblauch, Schalotten, Kerzennüssen, Koriandersamen, Lorbeerblättern und Teak-Blättern serviert wird. Es ist in der Universitätsstadt Yogyakarta so beliebt, dass der Name zum Spitznamen der Stadt avanciert ist: City of Gudeg.

    Unser Tipp: Unbedingt ausprobieren!

    Wir bieten Dir Jackfruit als Fleischalternative in unverarbeiteter Form an, aber auch als schnell zuzubereitende Convenient-Gerichte: Du hast die Wahl zwischen Curry, Gulasch, Barbecue sowie Natur, und den leckeren Veggie Balls und Burgern. Außerdem führen wir verschiedene Frischeprodukte und süße Snacks. Entdecke die leckere Geschmackswelt der Jackfruit. Es lohnt sich!